Google +1 Button Content Recommendations Now Public

Two weeks ago Google announced to the Google+ Platform Preview Group that they were beginning to test an upgrade to the Google +1 button. The update, until now only visible to members of that group, adds content recommendations to the +1 button when a logged-in-to-Google user hovers the mouse pointer over the button. Here’s what the recommendations look like:

Google +1 Button Content Recommendations Example

If you’re not logged in to Google (or the site you’re looking at hasn’t been +1ed by anyone yet, you see a message inviting you to “publicly recommend on Google,” but no recommendations:

Google +1 button not logged in

The recommended content is always from the same domain as that upon which the +1 button is located. As far as we can tell, the recommendations seem to be influenced by number of +1s on that content, as well as (possibly) its recency.

The familiar Google+ sharing box doesn’t appear until the visitor has clicked the +1 button. Once the +1 button has been clicked, the recommendations disappear and don’t ever reappear for the button on that page. If you share the content to your Google+ circles, subsequent hovers of the same button only bring up the share box, with a message at the top that “you publicly recommended this on Google+.”

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

Get Started

800-650-0820

Angular can help you get the most out of your website. Simply fill out this form, and we'll get back to you with a free quote. No risk, no obligation.

Angular respects your privacy. We will never spam you or sell your information to any third party. Privacy Policy



Follow us on LinkedIn

Follow Us on Twitter

Get Started

800-650-0820

Angular can help you get the most out of your website. Simply fill out this form, and we'll get back to you with a free quote. No risk, no obligation.

Angular respects your privacy. We will never spam you or sell your information to any third party. Privacy Policy

[X] Close